Chosen

I believe every word in the Bible (even though I may not understand everything) and there are several references that say we are chosen by God to receive salvation through his Son, Jesus.

We don’t choose him, he chooses us.

Salvation is a gift. No one can earn it through doing good things, or boast about it, or take credit for it. All we have to do is believe and profess that Jesus is the Son of God, that he died for our sins and rose again to sit at the right hand of God (see Rom 10:9-10).

He draws us to him and gives us the opportunity to remove the blinders from our eyes. The blinders are put there by the devil, the great deceiver, the father of lies, (see 2 Cor 4:4) but it’s still our choice whether or not we want to remove them. God gives us free will, so it’s still up to us to ultimately decide our destiny based on our choices.

We still have to accept his gift of salvation.

I look back on my life and wonder, “Why me?” I’m very thankful, don’t get me wrong, but I’m also humbled and amazed and confused. Out of all my family, I was chosen to believe in him. And the lengths he went to get me to the point where I was free to believe amazes me!

Having grown up in an agnostic (bordering on atheistic) family in a very liberal country, God had to remove me from that environment and influence for me to get any real exposure to him. In a very round-about way, he brought me out of my homeland, New Zealand, to an environment where there was practically a church on every corner. In small-town Texas, it’s commonplace to go to church and be open about being a Christian. Here I was not only exposed but had the freedom to accept the gift being offered.

It’s amazing how much influence my family and my culture had on my decision making. Once removed from that influence, I was free, and even encouraged, to remove the blinders from my eyes.

I still experience a strong hampering influence from my family, fortunately just from a distance now, but if I was exposed to it on a daily basis, it would soon quell the fire within me that burns for the Lord. Anytime I try to share my faith with my family, I get admonished to “stop the religious talk.” Sometimes quite bluntly. And frankly, that hurts. A lot.

It seems to especially be the case when I’m speaking with a terminally ill family member whom I would love to see believe in Jesus before they die. Other family members are quick to jump in and put an end to that kind of talk, yet I ask: “But how can they call on him to save them unless they believe in him? And how can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear about him unless someone tells them?” (Rom 10:14 NLT)

So the influence from family on other family members is still strong and prevents the seed of God’s Word from taking root (see the parable of the farmer sowing the seed in Mark 4:3-20). My family members are similar to the birds in the parable and are used by Satan to come at once and take the seed away.

But I know they too are just blinded to the truth. I can only tell them the truth, but God has to draw them to him, and then the ball’s in their court.

Just like all of us, they have the freedom to choose salvation and eternal life through belief in Jesus.

Or not.

See also Romans 8:30, 1 Pet 1:2, Eph 1:4-11, Col 3:12, 1 Thess 5:9

I believe if you’re still reading this then either you’ve already said yes to the gift of salvation or God is drawing you to him so you can. Either way, you’ve been chosen.

So, tell me, how do you feel about being chosen? What was your choice?

Leave a Reply

