Destiny

I just wanted to share a little of what I’ve got up my sleeve in the way of writing projects. Since I’ve wanted to write a book since I was about ten years old, I thought it was high time I put forth some concentrated, educated effort toward making that goal happen (wishing and wanting sure hasn’t made it happen). No more letting the devil convince me I can’t do it!

I’ve been doing a lot of learning the craft of writing over the past year or two, and boy, is there a lot to learn! That’s probably why my feeble attempts at writing a book in the past have not amounted to much. I would get a few chapters in and then come to a grinding halt. The most I’ve ever written was about 75,000 words. When I began learning some of the techniques for writing a “good” novel, my 75,000 words got cut down to 11,000. Much better to have fewer meaningful words than an abundance of drivel that would bore the reader to death and make them wonder what the story was about!

I still feel nowhere near ready to write a novel but I’m working on it anyway, albeit a little wiser, in between the learning and reading. I’m also working on a non-fiction book about the psychology of chronic pain. I may share some of my work here on this blog if anyone’s interested (leave me a comment if you are).

Two points I want to make from this:

  1. If you feel drawn to something, destiny may be luring you towards your purpose here on this earth. Destiny has a way of pulling us toward it, but many people, like myself, ignore the pull and sometimes even fight it. Even if you’ve squandered more than half your life dragging your feet, don’t believe it’s too late now. Just start anyway. It would be sad to look back on your life when you’re on your deathbed and have regrets for the poor choices you made that prevented you from fulfilling your destiny. Sure, we all make poor choices at some point in our lives, but put those behind you, learn from them, pick yourself back up again, and vow to make a better choice the next time. Just keep moving forward.
  2. Fear is common and a fierce opponent to us fulfilling our destiny. I believe the devil just loves it when we don’t do what we know we should do because we’re afraid. If he can keep us afraid and focused on ourselves, our weaknesses, and our failures, rather than on our God, whose perfect love drives out fear (1 John 4:18), then we will fail to heed the still small voice that’s telling us which way to step next. It becomes a vicious cycle of not making the right choice out of fear, feeling like we’ve failed, thinking that since we’ve failed before we’ll fail again if we try so we make the choice to not try. This just results in the disappointment of living unfulfilled lives. If we stay in that rut, not only have we let ourselves down, but we’ve also deprived others of what we had to contribute to the world to make it a better place. And besides that, we’ve let the devil win!

Each person is a unique creation put on this earth for a specific purpose. Celebrate who you are by being you.

Sometimes, I think, people let their upbringing or their past hurts and failures prevent them from believing they are capable of doing what God has put on their heart to do. It all comes down to the power of our own thoughts again. I think our own limiting beliefs restrict what God can and will do in our lives. Hebrews 11:1 (NLT)* says: Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

In Mark 9:23 (NLT), after a father asked Jesus if he could cure his child of an evil spirit, this is Jesus’ reply: “What do you mean, ‘If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.”

If we think something’s not possible, we won’t even try. If we think we can’t do something, we won’t be able to. If we believe we can, we will find a way to make it happen.

Matthew 9:28b-30a (NLT) says:  Jesus asked them, “Do you believe I can make you see?” “Yes, Lord,” they told him, “we do.” Then he touched their eyes and said, “Because of your faith, it will happen.” Then their eyes were opened…

Did you notice that Jesus wanted the blind men to verbalize their faith first before they received their sight. It’s not as though he didn’t already know what they were thinking, but he wanted to hear them say it. I think he also wanted them to hear themselves say they believed he could do what they had asked.

I’ve heard there’s power in verbalizing something (see my reference to Joyce Meyer in my post on fear), so why not verbalize your dreams and take the first action toward making them happen. It takes both unwavering belief and faithful action to fulfill your destiny. As James 2:14 (NLT) says: What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions?

Don’t let the devil win! Take the first step towards fulfilling your destiny and make a difference in people’s lives, including your own.

 

*(NLT) = New Living Translation of the Bible

Leave a Reply

