I Have A Dream

I have a dream… it’s nowhere near as grand as Martin Luther King Jr’s dream was but I still want my life and my writing to make a lasting difference, one person at a time.

My dream is for my life and my writing to honor God and bring Him glory. I feel like He’s put it on my heart to write and although I’ve been trying to ignore that urging for years with the excuse that I don’t have any words and don’t know what to write, I want to make up for it now. I want my writing to show where He’s brought me from and where He’s leading me to, so that others may be encouraged on their journey. Many days I still don’t have any words and I still don’t know what to write, but I want whatever words end up on the page to be the words He has given me so that they will speak to the heart of the reader.

My dream is for my writing to bring others to know Christ as their Savior. I want my writing, whether fiction or non-fiction, to show people that no matter what they’ve done or what’s been done to them, the Lord still loves them and wants a relationship with them. I want to show them that if there was hope for me, there’s hope for them. If He can save me, He can save them. If He chose me, then He chooses them, too. I want people to remember it’s a fallen world, so bad stuff happens, but God doesn’t cause the bad stuff to happen. He can, however, cause good things to come from the bad things, if we’ll be open to working with Him and let Him use our hurts to comfort others who are hurting.

My dream is to have a positive effect on people’s lives. I am aware of the ripple effect — everything I do and say has the potential to affect or influence someone else — so I want to be intentional about those things. Even when no one else is watching, I want to do what’s pleasing in the Lord’s sight because He sees all and knows all, even my thoughts before I think them. I want my writing to make others consider their choices and to learn they can control their thoughts, their actions, and their words, and to realize the effect those things have on their own lives and the lives of those around them.

My dream is for my writing to help people see others on a deeper level than what they might portray on the surface. I want people to look beyond the scowl, the pasted-on smile, the laugh, the tears, the talkativeness, the quiet, to see that everyone is just dealing with life the best they can. We each have our faults and baggage and we each act out of our own reality at the time, but despite our failings, each of us is worthy of love.

My dream is for my writing to encourage people to treat others with respect and dignity, empathy and caring, knowing that we, in all our varied shapes, sizes, and colors, are unique and special creations of God put on this earth for a specific purpose. To know that each of us can contribute to making this world a better place by building others up not tearing them down, by showing them the love that God showed us when he sent Jesus to die for our sins.

adult-1868015__480

My dream is for my writing to open people’s eyes to the control the devil has over this world. I want people to see how blinded the world is by the devil’s lies. I want my writing to help take the blinders off, to open some eyes to the truth of God’s Word, to help people realize that the devil loves it when we live self-defeating, purposeless lives. I want people to realize how easy it is for us to be blinded and deafened by the roar of the storms that rage around us, how easy it is to be too caught up in the chaos of our problems and all the busyness of life to see or hear God. I want my writing to make people think and spur them into action to make the most of their own lives and not let the devil win. I’ve spent too many years living defeated and I don’t want others to make the same mistake.

My dream is for my life to matter. Despite all the regrets about things I did and shouldn’t have, or things I didn’t do and should have, when I get to the end of my life I want to look back and be pleased with the effort I put forth to make the most of the time I had left in an attempt to make up for those regrets. I want my daughters to be proud of me despite all the mistakes I made while raising them. I want my children and their children and their children’s children to learn from my life — to not make the same mistakes I did, but instead to emulate the good choices I made.

My dream is to leave a lasting legacy in the form of written words that people generations in the future can look at and learn from, be enlightened, be inspired, find comfort, and be encouraged. I want people to be entertained by my fiction yet still appreciate the depth and meaning in the story. But more than anything, I want my writing to glorify God and draw people to Him.

Those are big dreams, I know, especially since I’m starting so late in life but I serve a big God and with his help I can do anything, including fulfill the purpose he has ordained for me. I’m starting small and working my way up, but will still need encouragement along the way.

Post in the comments and let me know your dreams or leave me a word of encouragement. I’d really appreciate the feedback. Live on!

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I Have A Dream

Leave a Reply

