Why I’m Not On A Reality Show

I was at a loss as to what to write my blog about this week.

I wanted to write something positive and uplifting and God-honoring, yet the truth is that my darker posts chronicling my struggles seem to be my most popular, not only with the number of readers but with the number of “likes”. I guess that’s similar to people slowing down to gawk at the car wreck on the side of the road as they drive by. All the news stations know negative stories tend to attract more interest than positive ones. Some macabre side to human nature, I think.

Trouble is…

Nothing dramatic or profound has happened this week to prompt a post topic.

I haven’t had any major breakthroughs, although I do feel like I’m making a little bit of headway with my novel.

My emotional health hasn’t taken any nosedives and that’s definitely a good thing.

Nothing has changed for the better or worse this past week. Even though life has felt fairly busy, as usual, it’s been pretty even keel, almost predictable. I’m not sure if that’s a positive thing or just plain sad 👍🏼👎🏼.

Does that mean I haven’t done anything interesting or exciting this week? Maybe, or at least nothing I consider write-worthy.

Does that mean I haven’t stirred things up enough this week? Yeah, but as a peace-maker, why would I want to?

Does it mean I’m too satisfied with the status quo? Could be. I’ll think about it while I’m relaxing in my comfort zone…just kidding! 😉

Does it mean I’m not making any forward progress? No, I’m pretty sure that’s not true.

I don’t need drama in my life. I don’t need things stirred up to feel like I’m alive. That’s why I’m not on a Reality Show or Dr. Phil. Some people seem to thrive on those things. I’m happy with things chugging along steadily and peacefully. I figure so long as I’m moving forward, I’m not falling back.

Life doesn’t have to move along at breakneck speeds for me to be satisfied. Everyone’s different, of course, but my stress levels increase when life feels like it’s going ninety to nothing for too long. That’s also the reason I don’t keep adding more and more to my plate by getting involved in every little project, committee, mission, or group.

I once knew someone who was constantly chairing, leading, or heavily involved in multiple community related activities, plus she had a full-time job and three kids. How she found time for everything made my head spin. She was very good at balancing all her obligations and she thrived on the accolades from her many accomplishments. I think it boosted her self-worth and made her feel useful and needed, and if that’s what she likes, good for her. Some people are like that, and that’s fine, but I’m more selective and purposeful about what I get involved in.

Although, maybe I’d be further along by now if I had more drive or if I was more competitive 🤔.

C’est la vie. I don’t need to go down that road. I am who I am and it’s taken this long for me to be okay with that. Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” I want to do the things God has planned for me, not someone else.

I’m content where I’m at. I have a loving husband, a decent home, and a good job. I live in relative comfort in a free country (thanks to those who put their lives on the line to defend the US), including the freedom to believe in, worship, and have a relationship with the LORD without fear of persecution or oppression.

I’m thankful for my life as it is right now. My health has been fairly good for a while, I have a strong marriage, my family is safe and happy, I am financially secure and materially blessed, I am making slow but steady progress in my writing, and I am loved by the Most High God. What more could a person ask for?

Just because I’m thankful for everything I have, though, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t ask and believe for more blessings. I want every good thing, all the abundance, God has for me. Matthew 7:11 says, “So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.”

Just because I’m content doesn’t mean I’m stagnant and want to stay put, either. I have a third of my life yet to live (God willing), so I’m still setting goals and working towards bigger and better things. I don’t want to settle for good enough when I can have extraordinary. I think many of us miss out on so much in life because we settle for mediocrity.

Don’t get apathetic. Don’t let that spark go out. Don’t let your age stop you from trying something new.

God has more in store for us than we can ask or imagine, but so many times we don’t think to ask and/or we don’t really believe Ephesians 3:20 pertains to us: “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”

Life is a journey that’s not over till that last breath.

I’ve come a long way, but I’ve still got a long way to go. I may not be where I want to be yet, but at least I’m not where I used to be!

If I have neurons firing then I want to learn something.

If I’m still breathing then I want to be actively living, not slowly deteriorating.

As long as I’m still alive, I want to make the most of every opportunity God brings my way and keep improving.

The Lord’s blessings abound and I am but a thankful recipient 🙏🏼.

Leave a Reply

